Paragraph #2: Clothing Crisis.

My style is best described as “just got our of bed and threw on whatever was on the floor that didn’t smell like armpits.”

I love getting hand me down clothes because then I don’t have to go shopping. But lately I’ve noticed that my second hand wardrobe seems to be at the end of its life cycle. Everything is stained, ripped, ill fitting or smells like armpits even after washing.

Getting dressed has become such a chore. It’s like choosing between the lesser of two evils; the shirt with the hole in the sleeve or the one with the stain on the boob? The jeans that are too big that show my butt crack every time I bend over or the “snug” ones that emphasize my muffin top?

It’s safe to say that I’m in the midst of a serious clothing crisis. I know I should just bite the bullet and go shopping, but it’s so hard! I generally gravitate towards the clothes found in the junior department, which sadly are not tailored to women who’ve had three children and like to drink beer.

So what’s the alternative?

Tunics?

Fleece vests?

Turtle necks?

Leggings?

Bulky sweaters?

High waisted mom jeans?

Can I please skip the boring “pushing forty fashions” and go straight to the colourful muumuus that will surely be my wardrobe staple in my later years???

So here’s what I want to know; where do women in their late thirties, that have a limited budget, buy clothes that actually fit their bodies? Clothes that are fun and that don’t make them look like octogenarians?

Please help me in my clothing quest. I’m tired of looking like a ragamuffin.

Much love,

NFred.

 

P.S. On a totally unrelated note, I just learned from Wikipedia that there is a common breed of domestic cats called Ragamuffins! Look at that beauty! I think we’re soul mates.

raggamuffin!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Paragraph #2: Clothing Crisis.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lots more than one paragraph! Hurray! Can’t help with the clothing quandary. At this stage of my life, I was shopping at the Sally Ann. And counting on my sisters for their hand-me-downs.

    • NFred says:

      I love me some Sally Ann. Thrift stores are the best. And at this stage in my life, I don’t want to be spending lots of money on my clothes. I should totally carve out some time to get my thrift store on!

  2. PhoreverPhanPhather says:

    Darling daughter, reading this reminds me that we have so much in common – you don’t like shopping, I don’t like shopping! We can not go shopping together!

  3. CarolynH says:

    I understand your clothing quandary. My best suggestion is to buy what you love from the Jr. Dept anywhere or your favorite thrift shop and spend the saved money on tailoring. Find yourself a good seamstress close to your home/work. I’ve taken 10 outfits to my seamstress and only paid $100 to make them fit. You can’t buy that value in a store and have every piece for you perfectly. This method also helps when weight fluxuates/beer consumption increases yet you still love those skinny jeans. 🙂

    • NFred says:

      I have been thinking about this all day! I’ve never taken anything to a seamstress, except for my wedding dress. It never dawned on me that people actually buy stuff and alter it to fit them. Genius. You is so smart.

Tell me I'm pretty...or leave a comment...or BOTH!

